suspicious minds

It is arguable for some, gospel for many that all beings have access to consciousness. But do all beings make use of this concept which human beings call “mind”? There are two authors in particular that we may benefit from by participating in their discussion of “mind”, as well as consciousness. These authors are Tolle in his “A New Earth”, and Krishnamurti’s perspective presented through “Freedom From the Known”. Both of them may be suspicious of thought, yet different in their approach.

Truly some beings move faster than others, even the Earth moves in geological time.

“..so all living beings, things that move, are equally important..” africa, pg.1, pp.2

Since to move or to embody change is to be alive, conversely to be fixed is to depart from the stream of life. Such

“fixation on the past, deadens us to our present.” butler

Appreciation and joy of movement, of change is our passport to participation with and of life. Vitality is inexhaustible and available for infinite use. What gets in the way of such power, such lightness of being. Tolle would say that it is our thought processes, structures of habit, our ego that self-creates barriers. When we recognize these barriers exist, know them for what they are, they melt away and we become once more

“..transparent to the light of consciousness?” tolle, pg.5, pp.3

Once we have been someplace, somewhen that engendered feelings of awe, wonder, appreciation and JOY we may will our being to quickly return. Or we may once again give strength to thought and directly re-erect the barriers that interfere with Being a live creature.

“You cannot fight against the ego and win, just as you cannot fight against darkness. The light of consciousness is all that is necessary. You are that light.”
tolle, pg.8,pp.1

Part of the joy, and wonder we may feel as a light of the world might come from recognition that we need not pay attention to negative judgments of our self. We can be, as such a wonderful momentary container we may embody many things, many energies and have many, many experiences;

“What a liberation to realize that the “voice in my head” is not who I am. Who am I then? The one who sees that. The awareness that is prior to thought, the space in which the thought — or the emotion or sense perception – happens.” tolle, pg.22,pp.1

For Tolle, mind gets in the way, and thought is useful in recognition of those barriers. With such recognition the barriers lose their form and are incapable of interference with Being.

And yet, surely we might go further, or even expand our consciousness greatly enough to encompass or make contact with a consciousness far greater in scope than ours a lone?
Will our emergent thought take us there? Will we discover “universal truths” that we can reuse or replay upon our “mind” like records of transcendental warp-drives? Krishnamurti might disagree with such attachment to truth, since;

“Truth has no path, and that is the beauty of truth, it is living.”
krishnamurti, pg.15,pp.1

Life, living, good-bye goals hello every changing journey! And will we have the ability to continue, is there fuel enough for all to continue onward and inward in beauty?

“And where there is freedom, there is energy; and when there is freedom it can never do anything wrong.” krishnamurti, pg.19, pp.1

I’m smiling now, as I read these words he offered to all of us, full of appreciation. For I am totally in agreement on accepting the bountiful energy available to us at all times and places for which to continue our journeys.

It would seem that Tolle would make the best use of thought as possible, while Krishnamurti believes that thought/thinking are merely “prisons of the mind”. How might we leave behind or step aside from the limitations of thought?

“But if you are learning all the time, learning every minute, learning by watching and listening, learning by seeing and doing, then you will find that learning is a constant movement without the past.” krishnamurti, pg.23, pp.1

And there we have it, full immersion with the great consciousness that permeates everything within and without provides a joyous way of being.

In both “A New Earth” and “Freedom From the Known” we have opportunities to enter a discourse with Tolle and Krishnamurti in order to improve our understanding of these concepts of thought and “mind”. Although the authors may not be completely similar on their description and analysis of the usefulness of thought, we have the benefit of their need to educate. You, reader may not agree with my analysis or that of the cited authors. If such is the case then another shall make my reply;

“We can’t go on together
With suspicious minds
And we can’t build our dreams
On suspicious minds” presley

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Tolle, Eckhart, A New Earth, Plume Books, 2005
Krishnamurti, J., Freedom From the Known, Harper & Row, 1817
John Africa, MOVE, http://www.onamove.com/belief/
Butler, Jonathan, Advanced English Course, Kainan University, 2010
Elvis Presley, Suspicious Minds, 1969!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by rufong on 01/07/2010 - 12:04

    I’m Not the Man I Used to Be

    When I’m in trouble or out of step
    If my balance has been upset
    Oh, there’s a feeling I can’t accept
    There’s one thing that helps me to forget
    Wonder what I’m thinking
    Wonder why I’m drinking
    But it’s plain to see,
    I’m not the man I used to be

    If life were easy and didn’t ask,
    didn’t tease me or take things back
    I could start to understand,
    what makes me the man I am

    Wonder what I’m thinking
    Wonder why I’m drinking
    But it’s plain to see,
    I’m not the man I used to be

    Oh, it’s plain and it’s a shame
    I’m not the man I used to be

    I’ve lost dreams that won’t come back,
    memories fading fast
    I should save the ones I have
    What’s the use?
    Most of them are bad

    Wonder what I’m thinking
    Wonder why I’m drinking
    But it’s plain to see,
    I’m not the man I used to be

    Oh, it’s plain and it’s a shame
    I can’t explain
    But I’m not the man I used to be
    It’s a shame, don’t know my name
    I can’t explain
    I’m not the man I used to be
    Do you know my name?
    Do you, do you need me?
    But I’m not the man…

  2. #2 by rufong on 01/07/2010 - 12:06

    Suspicious Minds – fine young cannibals

    Suspicious Minds – elvis

Leave a Reply

